As I mentioned in my post about starting the parsley, last year seed starting began on St. Patrick’s Day.  This year I’m more experienced, ambitious, and have more space for growing and so things got started even earlier.  In a somewhat random nod to this new tradition I started part of a  packet of lettuce seeds in the “windowsill greenhouse” (pictured below) on St. Valentine’s Day.

Lettuce seeds sprouting on the windowsill

Lettuce seeds sprouting on the windowsill

If these stick to schedule and are ready to be transplanted before the middle of April they will probably never end up in the garden but instead will go into a window box and provide the occasional salad garnish for meals in the city.  I’m a bit disappointed that the germination rate seems to be so spotty.  I started with the cells on the right with bigger seeds (this is mixed packet of different lettuce seeds) and one seed per cell.  By the time I got to the cells on the left and the much smaller seeds laziness kicked in and I just poured four or five seeds into each cell.  Do bigger seeds take longer to germinate?

